2015 Result:
Conservative: 13288 (28.2%)
Labour: 18603 (39.4%)
Lib Dem: 1642 (3.5%)
Green: 1486 (3.1%)
UKIP: 11850 (25.1%)
TUSC: 324 (0.7%)
MAJORITY: 5315 (11.3%)

Category: Safe Labour seat

Geography: East Midlands, Nottinghamshire. Coterminous with the Mansfield council area.

Main population centres: Mansfield, Mansfield Woodhouse, Market Worsop.

Profile: A traditional former mining town on the western edge of Nottinghamshire. The coal mines have long since closed, and unemployment problems have been further exacerbated by the closures of other industries, such as the Mansfield Brewery and the AG Barr factory.

Politics: Mansfield has been held by the Labour party since the 1920s, althought not always entirely safely (in 1987 it was an ultra-marginal). The local Mansfield Independent Forum is extremely strong at a local level and this has translated into significant independent challenges in the Parliamentary seat - Stewart Rickersey took 17% of the vote in 2005 and Andre Camilleri 9% in 2010.

Current MP
ALAN MEALE (Labour) Born 1949, Bishop Auckland. Educated at St Joseph Roman Catholic School and Durham University. Former seaman and political assistant. First elected as MP for Mansfield in 1987. Opposition whip 1992-1994, PPS to John Prescott 1994-1998. Junior DETR minister 1998-1999.
Past Results
Con: 12741 (26%)
Lab: 18753 (39%)
LDem: 7469 (15%)
UKIP: 2985 (6%)
Oth: 6447 (13%)
MAJ: 6012 (12%)
Con: 7035 (18%)
Lab: 18400 (48%)
LDem: 5316 (14%)
Oth: 7525 (20%)
MAJ: 10875 (28%)
Con: 10012 (27%)
Lab: 21050 (57%)
LDem: 5790 (16%)
MAJ: 11038 (30%)
Con: 10038 (21%)
Lab: 30556 (64%)
LDem: 5244 (11%)
MAJ: 20518 (43%)

*There were boundary changes after 2005

2015 Candidates
ANDREA CLARKE (Conservative) Solicitor.
ALAN MEALE (Labour) See above.
TONY ROGERS (Liberal Democrat)
PAUL FROST (Green) Careers advisor.
Comments - 106 Responses on “Mansfield”
  1. I remember people telling me I was silly saying the Tory vote would surge here.

    16,000 majority now.

  2. MP Ben Bradley stood for the county council elections last week. It made sense as he stood in a a division which wasn’t easy for the Conservatives. Indeed, it ended up as split ward with him polling almost twice as high of the other Conservative candidate.

    However, he has also been appointed as Conservative group leader now, meaning he will become the council leader.

    MP-Council Leader double jobbing is not particularly frequent, I would guess.

  3. I wouldn’t think standing to be a councillor whilst an MP is particularly frequent either. It usually happens the other way round.

  4. Emma Dent Coad is still a councillor in Kensington and Chelsea, and was throughout her time as the MP for Kensington. Lynne Featherstone continued as a Haringey councillor (I think for Fortis Green Ward), and a London-wide Greater London Assembly member. I think she combined all three while she was a Home Office Minister. I can’t think when she was a Home Office Minister. Candy Atherton, who was MP for Falmouth and Camborne between 1997 and 2005, then became Councillor for Falmouth Smithwick Ward until her death (2019?). I once had to draft a reply to a particularly unpleasant Minister’s Case she had submitted on behalf of a constituent.

  5. “Lynne Featherstone continued as a Haringey councillor (I think for Fortis Green Ward), and a London-wide Greater London Assembly member. I think she combined all three while she was a Home Office Minister. ”

    She was elected MP in May 2005 and resigned from London Assembly in June 2005.
    She kept the councillor position until the end of 2005 in order to resign when the “6 months rule” ahead of the 2006 local elections kicked in.

  6. @WV: It’s true that Emma Dent Coad would have stood again in the 2018 K&C elections, when she was already an MP, but that was her standing for re-election, rather than it being her first contest, like Ben Bradley… although I think I misunderstood Andrea, as Bradley was also standing for re-election last week.

    It seems that Bradley was briefly a district councillor, county councillor and an MP, following his election to parliament in June 2017. He stood down from the DC in September 2017 but remained on the CC.

Leave a Reply

NB: Before commenting please make sure you are familiar with the Comments Policy. UKPollingReport is a site for non-partisan discussion of polls.

You are not currently logged into UKPollingReport. Registration is not compulsory, but is strongly encouraged. Either login here, or register here (commenters who have previously registered on the Constituency Guide section of the site *should* be able to use their existing login)