The UKPollingReport election guide for 2010 has now been archived and all comments closed. The new Election Guide for the 2015 election is now online at The old site is archived at the UK Web Archive.

West Midlands Euros

The West Midlands region covers Herefordshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, Worcestershire and the West Midlands Metropolitan councils. It currently returns 7 MEPs, but this will reduce to 6 at the next election, notionally reducing the number of Conservative seats by 1. Had the Lisbon treaty come into force before the election the number of UK MEPs would have increased by one, which would have been allocated to the West Midlands.

The region returned three Conservatives, two Labour, one Liberal Democrat and one UKIP MEP in 2004.

Sitting MEPs and 2004 Results

1. portrait Philip Bushill-Matthews (Conservative) 392,937 (27.3%) (Will stand down at next election)
2. portrait Michael Cashman (Labour) 336,613 (23.4%)
3. portrait Mike Nattrass (UKIP) 251,366 (17.5%)
4. portrait Liz Lynne (Lib Dem) 197,479 (13.7%)
5. portrait Philip Bradbourn (Conservative) (196,469)
6. Neena Gill (Labour) (168,307)
7. Malcolm Harbour (Conservative) (130,979)
-. BNP 107,794 (7.5%)
-. Green 73,991 (5.2%)
-. Respect 34,704 (2.4%)
-. Pensioners Party 33,501 (2.3%)
-. Common Good 8,650 (0.6%)

2009 Candidates


1. portraitMichael Cashman Sitting MEP. Born 1950, London. Former actor, best known for playing Colin Russell in Eastenders. MEP for West Midlands since 1999.
2. portraitNeena Gill Sitting MEP. Born 1956, Ludhiana. Educated at Liverpool Polytechnic. Prior to her election was chief executive of a social housing company. MEP for West Midlands since 1999.
3. portraitClaire Edwards Rugby councillor.
4. portraitAnthony Painter Journalist and author.
5. portraitVictoria Quinn
6. portraitMohammed Nazir


1. portraitPhilip Charles Bradbourn Sitting MEP. Born 1951, Tipton. Educated at Tipton Grammar and Worcester College. Contested Wolverhampton South East 1992. Contested County Durham in 1994 European elections. MEP for the West Midlands since 1999. Awarded the OBE in 1994 for public and political service.
2. portraitMalcolm Harbour Sitting MEP. Born 1947, Woking. Educated at Bedford School and Cambridge University. Formerly worked as a engineer, executive and consultant in the motor industry. Contested Birmingham East in 1989 European election. MEP for the West Midlands since 1999.
3. portraitAnthea McIntyre Educated at Queens College, Harley Street. Partner in an information management consultancy. Hereford and Worcester county councillor 1977-1985, Herefordshire councillor since 2006. Contested Warley West 1983, Redditch 1997, Shrewsbury and Atcham 2001.
4. portraitMichael Burnett Educated at Warwick University. Chartered accountant. Contested West Midlands in 1999 and 2004 European elections.
5. portraitMark Spelman Businessman. Married to Caroline Spelman, the MP for Meriden.
6. portraitDan Dalton

Liberal Democrat

1. portraitLiz Lynne Sitting MEP. Born 1948, Woking. Educated at Dorking County Grammar. Former actress and speech consultant. MP for Rochdale 1992-1997. MEP for the West Midlands since 1999.
2. portraitPhil Bennion Born Tamworth. Educated at Queen Elizabeth Grammar and Aberdeen University. Farmer and former lecturer. Lichfield councillor. Contested Lichfield 1997, 2001, Tamworth 2005.
3. portraitSusan Juned Born 1948. Educated at Birmingham University. Local government liasion, formerly worked as a scientist. Leader of Stratford on Avon council 1997-2000. Former Warwickshire councillor. Contested Stratford on Avon 1997, 2001, 2005.
4. portraitStephen Barber
5. portraitWilliam Powell Teacher and farmer. Powys county councillor.
6. portraitJonathan Bramall Educated at the University of Essex. Contested Dudley South 2005.


1. portraitMike Nattrass Sitting MEP. Born 1945, Leeds. Chartered surveyer. UKIP MEP for the West Midlands Region since 2004. Contested Dudley West by-election 1994 for the New Britain Party. Contested Solihull 1997 for the Referendum party. Contested Sutton Coldfield 2001, Stone 2005, Crewe and Nantwich by-election 2008. Deputy leader of UKIP 2002-2006.
2. portraitNikki Sinclaire Former UKIP party secretary. Contested Medway 2001, Halesowen and Rowley Regis 2005. Will contest Solihull at next election.
3. portraitGillian Seymour
4. portraitRustie Lee Born Jamacia. Celebrity TV chef. Contested Wyre Forest 2005.
5. portraitMalcolm Hurst Contested Staffordshire South 2005.
6. portraitJonathan Oakton Born 1958. Sales Director. Contested Birmingham Edgbaston 1997 for the Referendum Party, West Midlands Region in European Elections 1999, West Bromwich West by-election 2000 for UKIP


1. portraitFelicity Norman Part time teacher. Former Leominster councillor. Contested Leominster 2005.
2. portraitPeter Tinsley Management consultant.
3. portraitChris Williams Educated at Oxford University.
4. portraitIan Davidson Educated at Cambridge University. Research fellow and former teacher.
5. portraitVicky Dunn
6. portraitDave Wall Born Birmingham.


1. portraitSimon Darby.Born 1964, West Bromwich. Dudley councillor 2003-2004. Contested West Midlands in 2004 European elections. Contested Dudley North 1997 for the National Democrats, 2001, 2005 for the BNP. Deputy leader of the BNP.
2. portraitAlby Walker.Self employed joiner. Stoke on Trent councillor.
3. portraitChris Turner.Ex-serviceman.
4. portraitKen Griffiths. Transport manager.
5. portraitElly Walker. Stoke on Trent councillor.
6. portraitRussell Green. Sandwell councillor.


1. portraitDave Nellist Born 1952, Cleveland. Former Labour MP for Coventry South East between 1983 and 1992, he was deselected for the 1992 for his support of Militant. Contested Coventry South East 1992 as Independent Labour, Coventry South 1997 for the Socialist Party, Coventry North East 2001 for the Socialist Alliance, 2005 for the Socialist Party. Coventry councillor.
2. portraitDyal Singh Bagi President of the IWA GB
3. portraitMalcolm Gribbins Retired teacher
4. portraitJoanne Stevenson General Secretary of the Young Communist League
5. portraitPete McLaren National Secretary of the Socialist Alliance
6. portraitAndy Chaffer

Socialist Labour

1. portraitJohn Tyrrell Former Birmingham councillor for Labour.
2. portraitSatbir Johal Contested West Bromwich East 2001. Contested West Midlands 1999 European elections.
3. portraitRajinder Claire Contested Perry Barr 2005.
4. portraitBhagwant Singh
5. portraitSurinder Virdee Contested Birmingham Ladywood 2001.
6. portraitShangara Bhatoe

Jury Team

1. portraitGeoffrey Coady Consultant. Former member of the Labour party.
2. Graham Burton 3. Jeremy Spencer
4. Daid Bennett 5. Colin Thompson

Christian Party

1. portraitDavid Booth
2. Samuel Nelson 3. Ablodun Akiwumi
4. Yeside Oguntoye 5. Ade Raji
6. Maxine Hargreaves

English Democrat

1. portraitDavid Ford Lane
2. Frederick Bishop 3. John Lane
4. Graham Walker 5. Michael Ellis
6. Kim Elizabeth


1. portraitJimmy Millard
2. Bridget Rose 3. Zigi Davenport
4. Andrew Bebbington 5. David Black
6. Matthew Lingard
NB - The constituency guide is now archived and is no longer being updated. It will be replaced by a new guide in 2013, once the fate of the boundary review is finally settled.