The UKPollingReport election guide for 2010 has now been archived and all comments closed. The new Election Guide for the 2015 election is now online at The old site is archived at the UK Web Archive.

Wales Euros

Wales currently returns 4 members of the European Parliament.

In 2004 the region returned 2 Labour MEPs, 1 Conservative MEP and 1 Plaid Cymru MEP. For the Liberal Democrats or UKIP to gain an MEP here they would need to get at least 50% of the first placed party’s vote.

Sitting MEPs and 2004 Results

1. portrait Glenys Kinnock (Labour) 297,810 (32.1%) (Will stand down at next election)
2. portrait Jonathan Evans (Conservative) 177,771 (19.1%) (Will stand down at next election)
3. portrait Jill Evans (Plaid Cymru) 159,888 (17.2%)
4. portrait Eluned Morgan (Labour) (148,905) (Will stand down at next election)
-. UKIP 96,677 (10.4%)
-. Liberal Democrat 96,116 (10.3%)
-. Green 32,761 (3.6%)
-. BNP 27,135 (3.0%)
-. Foward Wales 17,280 (1.9%)
-. Christian Democrat 6,821 (0.7%)
-. Respect 5,427 (0.6%)

2009 Candidates


1. portraitDerek Vaughan. Born Aberfan. Educated at Swansea University. Neath Port Talbot councillor since 1995, council leader since 2004.
2. portraitLisa Stevens. Born 1980, Llantrisant. Educated at Corpus Christi High School and Southampton University. Former journalist, now working for Glenys Kinnock and Eluned Morgan.
3. portraitRachel Maycock. Born 1981, Llanfechain. Educated at Ysgol Uwchradd Llanfyllin High and Warwick University. Contested Montgomeryshire in 2007 Welsh elections.
4. portraitLeighton Veale. Born 1976, Swansea. Educated at Dwr y Felin School and Cardiff University. Public affairs officer. Merton councillor since 2002. Contested Brecon and Radnorshire 2005, South Wales West 2007.


1. portraitKay Swinburne. Born 1968. Educated at Llandysul Grammar. Health economist and former investment banker. Hereford councillor.
2. portraitEvan Price. Educated at sandhurst. Barrister, specialisting in property, insolvency and commercial law, and former army officer.
3. portraitEmma Greenow. Economist. Formerly headed Jonathan Evans’ office. Educated at the University of Wales. Contested Bridgend 2007 Welsh elections.
4. portraitDavid Chipp. Contested South Wales East in 2007.


1. portraitJill Evans. Sitting MEP. Born 1959, Rhondda. Educated at University of Wales. Former regional organiser for the infertility support network. MEP for Wales since 1999. Contested Rhondda in 2007 Welsh Assembly elections.
2. portraitEurig Wyn. Born 1944. Former BBC journalist. MEP for Wales 1999-2004. Contested Ynys Mon 2005.
3. portraitIoan Bellin. Born Reading. Educated at Cowbridge Comprehensive and Aberystwyth University. Press officer and former journalist. Will contest Pontypridd at the next general election.
4. portraitNatasha Asghar. Educated at London University. Financial advisor.

Liberal Democrat

1. portraitAlan Butt Philip. Educated at Eton and Oxford University. Jean Monnet Reader in European Integration at Bath University, has lectured there since 1978. Contested Wells F1974, O1974, 1979, 1983, 1987.
2. portraitKevin O’Connor. Merthyr Tydfil Councillor.
3. portraitNick Tregoning. Swansea councillor. Contested Gower 2005
4. portraitJackie Radford. Educated at the Open University and Swansea University. Former Bridgend councillor. Contested Ogmore 2005.


1. portraitJohn Bufton. Contested Monmouth 2005, North Wales 2007 Welsh elections.
2. portraitDavid Bevan. Contested Pontypridd 2005. Will contested Pontypridd at next general election.
3. portraitKevin Mahoney. Contested Vale of Glamorgan 2007 Welsh elections. Will contest Vale of Glamorgan at next general election.
4. portraitDavid W L Rowlands. Contested Montgomeryshire 2003 Welsh elections. Will contest Clwyd South at next general election.


1. portraitJake Griffiths Business environmental consultant.
2. portraitKay Roney Born South Durham. Hospital administrator. Former Manchester councillor.
3. portraitAnn Were Contested South Wales East 2007.
4. portraitJohn Matthews Former Cynon Borough councillor.


1. portraitEnnys Hughes. Born Anglesey. Educated at University of Wales. Contested North Wales 2007.
2. portraitLaurence Reid. Born Northern Ireland. Educated at Belfast College of Technology. Retired cement works manager. Contested South Wales Central 2007.
3. portraitClive Bennett. Born Cardiff.
4. portraitKevin Edwards. Area sales manager.

Socialist Labour

1. portraitBob English
2. portraitRichard Booth Born 1938. Educated at Rugby and Oxford University. Hay-on-Wye bookseller, and originator of the town’s reputation as a “book town”. Declared himself king of Hay-on-Wye in a 1977 publicity stunt. Awarded the MBE in 2004 for services to tourism.
3. portraitLiz Screen Contested Newport East 2005.
4. portraitJudith Sambrook Contested Birmingham Erdington 2001, West Bromwich East 2005

Jury Team

1. portraitPaul Sabanskis Software developer
2. portraitJames Eustace Born Ceredigion. Assistant project engineer with Network rail.
3. portraitNeil Morgan
4. portraitSteven Partridge Leadership development trainer. Former merchant seaman.

Christian Party

1. portraitJeffery Green
2. portraitDavid Griffiths
3. portraitAlun Owen
4. portraitJohn Harrold


1. portraitRobert Griffiths General Secretary of the Communist Party of Britain. Contested Newport East 2001, Pontypridd 2005.
2. portraitRob Williams Trade union convenor at Linamar Swansea.
3. portraitLaura Picand Trade union official
4. portraitTrevor Jones Secretary of Deeside TUC
NB - The constituency guide is now archived and is no longer being updated. It will be replaced by a new guide in 2013, once the fate of the boundary review is finally settled.