The UKPollingReport election guide for 2010 has now been archived and all comments will shortly be closed. The new Election Guide for the 2015 election is now online at The old site is archived at the UK Web Archive.

SNP Candidates

New candidates in (notionally) SNP seats*

Angus – Michael Weir (Majority: 4.2%)
Banff and Buchan – Eilidh Whiteford (Majority: 31.8%)
Dundee East – Stewart Hosie (Majority: 1%)
Moray – Angus Robertson (Majority: 14.6%)
Na h-Eileanan an lar – Angus MacNeil (Majority: 10.4%)
Perth and North Perthshire – Pete Wishart (Majority: 3.3%)

Candidates in non-SNP seats:

Aberdeen North – Joanna Strathdee (Majority: 44.42%)
Aberdeen South – Mark McDonald (Majority: 36.53%)
Aberdeenshire West and Kincardine – Dennis Robertson (Majority: 38.42%)
Airdrie and Shotts – Sophia Coyle (Majority: 58.16%)
Argyll and Bute – Mike MacKenzie (Majority: 31.61%)
Ayr Carrick and Cumnock – Charles Brodie (Majority: 47.14%)
Ayrshire Central – John Mullen (Majority: 47.71%)
Ayrshire North and Arran – Patricia Gibson (Majority: 47.4%)
Berwickshire Roxburgh and Selkirk – Paul Wheelhouse (Majority: 45.35%)
Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross – Jean Urquhart (Majority: 41.39%)
Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill – Frances McGlinchey (Majority: 66.6%)
Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East – Julie Hepburn (Majority: 57.23%)
Dumfries and Galloway – Andrew Wood (Majority: 45.9%)
Dumfriesshire Clydesdale and Tweeddale – Aileen Orr (Majority: 38.04%)
Dunbartonshire East – Iain White (Majority: 38.69%)
Dunbartonshire West – Graeme McCormick (Majority: 61.29%)
Dundee West – Jim Barrie (Majority: 48.47%)
Dunfermline and West Fife – Joe McCall (Majority: 46.25%)
East Kilbride Strathaven and Lesmahagow – John McKenna (Majority: 51.51%)
East Lothian – Andrew Sharp (Majority: 44.59%)
Edinburgh East – George Kerevan (Majority: 43.43%)
Edinburgh North and Leith – Calum Cashley (Majority: 37.46%)
Edinburgh South – Sandy Howat (Majority: 34.74%)
Edinburgh South West – Kaukab Stewart (Majority: 42.83%)
Edinburth West – Sheena Cleland (Majority: 35.92%)
Falkirk – John McNally (Majority: 45.7%)
Fife North East – Rod Campbell (Majority: 44.34%)
Glasgow Central – Osama Saeed (Majority: 52.02%)
Glasgow East – John Mason (Majority: 61.55%)
Glasgow North – Patrick Grady (Majority: 44.51%)
Glasgow North East – Billy McAllister (Majority: 68.35%)
Glasgow North West – Margaret Park (Majority: 54.05%)
Glasgow South – Malcolm Fleming (Majority: 51.72%)
Glasgow South West – Chris Stephens (Majority: 62.5%)
Glenrothes – David Alexander (Majority: 62.34%)
Gordon – Richard Thomson (Majority: 36.03%)
Inverclyde – Innes Nelson (Majority: 55.98%)
Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey – John Finnie (Majority: 40.72%)
Kilmarnock and Loudoun – George Leslie (Majority: 52.54%)
Kirkaldy and Cowdenbeath – Douglas Chapman (Majority: 64.54%)
Lanarck and Hamilton East – Clare Adamson (Majority: 49.96%)
Linlithgow and Falkirk East – Tam Smith (Majority: 49.82%)
Livingstone – Lis Bardell (Majority: 48.46%)
Midlothian – Colin Beattie (Majority: 47.01%)
Motherwell and Wishaw – Marion Fellows (Majority: 61.11%)
Ochil and South Perthshire – Annabelle Ewing (Majority: 37.91%)
Orkney and Shetland – John Mowat (Majority: 61.97%)
Paisley and Renfrewshire North – Mags MacLaren (Majority: 54.03%)
Paisley and Renfrewshire South – Andrew Doig (Majority: 59.61%)
Renfrewshire East – Gordon Archer (Majority: 50.77%)
Ross Skye and Lochaber – Alasdair Stephen (Majority: 52.63%)
Rutherglen and Hamilton West – Graeme Horne (Majority: 60.8%)
Stirling – Alison Lindsay (Majority: 41.8%)
(*This includes MPs who have been selected to stand in seats that UKPollingReport has not identified as the main successor to their existing seat, although in some cases this is somewhat arbitary, as more than one seat could be classed as the successor).

NB - The constituency guide is now archived and is no longer being updated. The new guide is at

4 Responses to “SNP Candidates”

  1. Apologies Anthony – I hadn’t realise you had started this already.

    Early days, but thanks for taking the time to do it. Look forward to seeing the full list eventually, e.g. DCT, BR&S, D&G etc.

    Have a good weekend.


  2. Anthony, did you get my mail with a list of SNP candidates (amongst others)?

  3. Getting errors on SNP Candidates page :-

    Warning: asort() expects parameter 1 to be array, null given in /home/ukpoll/public_html/guide/wp-content/plugins/exec-php/includes/runtime.php(42) : eval()’d code on line 11

    Over to you!! I’m afraid xls spreadsheets are my bag, best of luck.

  4. Thanks, Anthony!