The UKPollingReport election guide for 2010 has now been archived and all comments closed. The new Election Guide for the 2015 election is now online at The old site is archived at the UK Web Archive.

Leicester South

2010 Results:
Conservative: 10066 (21.36%)
Labour: 21479 (45.58%)
Liberal Democrat: 12671 (26.89%)
BNP: 1418 (3.01%)
UKIP: 720 (1.53%)
Green: 770 (1.63%)
Majority: 8808 (18.69%)

Notional 2005 Results:
Labour: 16700 (39.4%)
Liberal Democrat: 12975 (30.6%)
Conservative: 7557 (17.8%)
Other: 5205 (12.3%)
Majority: 3725 (8.8%)

Actual 2005 result
Conservative: 7549 (17.8%)
Labour: 16688 (39.3%)
Liberal Democrat: 12971 (30.6%)
Green: 1379 (3.3%)
Other: 3824 (9%)
Majority: 3717 (8.8%)

2001 Result
Conservative: 9715 (23.1%)
Labour: 22958 (54.5%)
Liberal Democrat: 7243 (17.2%)
UKIP: 333 (0.8%)
Green: 1217 (2.9%)
Other: 676 (1.6%)
Majority: 13243 (31.4%)

1997 Result
Conservative: 11421 (23.7%)
Labour: 27914 (58%)
Liberal Democrat: 6654 (13.8%)
Referendum: 1184 (2.5%)
Other: 941 (2%)
Majority: 16493 (34.3%)

Boundary changes:

Profile: Leicester South is a varied constituency. It contains some of the most pleasant and affluent areas of Leicester in the form of Stoneygate, Knighton and Aylestone, more deprived council estates like Saffron and Eyres Monsell and more ethnically diverse areas towards the centre of Leicester (by 2001 almost 40% of the constituency was non-white, with Muslims making up the largest ethnic minority). The seat also contains HMP Leicester and both of Leicester’s universities (14% of the adult population are in full time education).

This was once a Conservative vs Labour marginal and was held by the Conservatives between 1983 and 1987. It moved strongly towards Labour through the 1990s and was considered a safe Labour seat until the death of Jim Marshall in 2004. The subsequent by-election, fought under the shadow of the Iraq war, was won by the Liberal Democrats from third place, making Parmjit Singh Gill the Liberal Democrat’s only MP from an ethnic minority. He held the seat for only a year though, before being defeated in a rematch against Labour’s by-election candidate Sir Peter Soulsby at the 2005 general election. Soulsby subsequently resigned to become elected mayor of Leicester in 2011, giving Leicester South a second by-election in space of 7 years – the second by-election was safely held by Labour.

portraitCurrent MP: Jonathan Ashworth(Labour) Formerly head of party relations for Ed Miliband, formerly Deputy Political Secretary to Gordon Brown. First elected as MP for Leicester South in 2011 by-election.

2011 By-election

Sir Peter Soulsby resigned from Parliament on 1st April 2010 in order to stand as elected Mayor of Leicester. The by-election was held on the 5th May, the same day as the local elections, AV referendum and mayoral election (where Peter Soulsby was also victorious).
The Liberal Democrats originally selected Parmjit Singh Gill, the victor of the 2004 by-election here, as their candidate but he later withdrew from the race.

By-election result:
Jonathan Ashworth (Labour): 19,771 (57.8%)
Zuffar Haq (Liberal Democrat): 7,693 (22.5%)
Jane Hunt (Conservative): 5,169 (15.1%)
Abhijit Pandya (UKIP): 994 (2.9%)
Howling Laud Hope (Loony): 553 (1.6%)
Majority: 12,078 (35.3%)

By-election candidates:
portraitJane Hunt (Conservative) Caseworker for Nicky Morgan MP and former civil servant. Charnwood councillor since 2003. Contested Leicester East 2010
portraitJonathan Ashworth (Labour) Head of party relations for Ed Miliband, formerly Deputy Political Secretary to Gordon Brown.
portraitZuffar Haq (Liberal Democrat) Born Leicester. Educated at Lancaster Boys and Gateway College. Businessman. Contested Leicester West 2005, Harborough 2010.
portraitAbhijit Pandya (UKIP) Born 1980, Harrow. Educated at Millhill school and Leicester University. Lawyer. Head of research for UKIP. Contested Harrow East 2010.
portraitHowling Laud Hope (Official Monster Raving Loony) Real name Alan Hope. Born Mytchett. Publican. Leader of the Monster Raving Loony Party since 1999. Contested Teignbridge 1983, 1987, 1992, Aldershot 1997, Eddisbury by-election 1999, Kensington and Chelsea by-election 1999, Brent East by-election 2003, Hartlepool by-election 2004, Aldershot 2005, Blaenau Gwent by-election 2006, Sedgefield by-election 2007, Norwich North by-election 2009, Witney 2010, Barnsley Central by-election 2011.


2010 election candidates:
portraitRoss Grant (Conservative) Leicester councillor.
portraitPeter Soulsby (Labour) born 1948, Bishop Auckland. Educated at Minchenden School and City of Leicester College of Education. Former special needs teacher. Leicester councillor 1974-2003. Leader of Leicester council 1981-1994. Knighted in 1999 for services to local government. Contested Harborough 1979, Leicester South by-election 2004. MP for Leicester South since 2005 (more information at They work for you)
portraitParmjit Singh Gill (Liberal Democrat) born 1966, Leicester. Local government officer. Leicester councillor. Contested Leicester South 2001. MP for Leicester South between the 2004 by-election and his defeat in 2005.
portraitDave Dixey (Green)
portraitChristopher Lucas (UKIP)
portraitAdi Waudby (BNP)

2001 Census Demographics

Total 2001 Population: 100060
Male: 48.7%
Female: 51.3%
Under 18: 23.7%
Over 60: 16.1%
Born outside UK: 25%
White: 61.2%
Black: 4%
Asian: 31.4%
Mixed: 2.2%
Other: 1.3%
Christian: 42.1%
Hindu: 8.7%
Muslim: 19.3%
Sikh: 4.1%
Full time students: 14.6%
Graduates 16-74: 21.4%
No Qualifications 16-74: 33.9%
Owner-Occupied: 56.3%
Social Housing: 25.8% (Council: 18.1%, Housing Ass.: 7.8%)
Privately Rented: 15.2%
Homes without central heating and/or private bathroom: 8.7%

NB - The constituency guide is now archived and is no longer being updated. It will be replaced by a new guide in 2013, once the fate of the boundary review is finally settled.