The UKPollingReport election guide for 2010 has now been archived and all comments closed. The new Election Guide for the 2015 election is now online at The old site is archived at the UK Web Archive.

Retiring MPs


Tommy McAvoy – Rutherglen and Hamilton West
Hillary Armstrong – Durham North West
John Austin – Erith and Thamesmead
John Battle – Leeds West
Liz Blackman – Erewash
Des Browne – Kilmarnock and Loudoun
Colin Burgon – Elmet and Rothwell
Stephen Byers – North Tyneside
Richard Caborn – Sheffield Central
Colin Challon – Morley & Outwood
Ben Chapman – Wirral South
David Chaytor – Bury North
Michael Clapham – Barnsley West & Penistone (abolished)
David Clelland – Tyne Bridge (abolished)
Harry Cohen – Leyton and Wanstead
Frank Cook – Stockton North
Jim Cousins – Newcastle Central
Ann Cryer – Keighley
John Cummings – Easington
Claire Curtis-Thomas – Sefton Central
Janet Dean – Burton
Jim Devine – Livingston
Jeff Ennis – Barnsley East
Bill Etherington – Sunderland North
Mark Fisher – Stoke on Trent Central
Barbara Follett – Stevenage
Bruce George – Walsall South
Neil Gerrard – Walthamstow
Nigel Griffiths – Edinburgh South
John Grogan – Selby and Ainsty
Mike Hall – Weaver Vale
Sylvia Heal – Halesowen and Rowley Regis
Doug Henderson – Newcastle North
Keith Hill – Streatham
Stephen Hesford – Wirral West
Patricia Hewitt – Leicester West
Geoff Hoon – Ashfield
Kim Howells – Pontypridd
Beverley Hughes – Stretford and Urmston
Joan Humble – Blackpool North and Cleveleys
John Hutton – Barrow and Furness
Brian Iddon – Bolton South-East
Adam Ingram – East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow
Lynne Jones – Birmingham Selly Oak
Martyn Jones – Clwyd South
Ruth Kelly – Bolton West
Fraser Kemp – Houghton and Washington East
Jane Kennedy – Liverpool Wavertree
Peter Kilfoyle – Liverpool Walton
Bob Laxton – Derby North
David Lepper – Brighton Pavilion
Tom Levitt – High Peak
Ian McCartney – Makerfield
John McFall – West Dunbartonshire
Rosemary McKenna – Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East
Andrew Mackinlay – Thurrock
Bob Marshall Andrews – Medway
Eric Martlew – Carlisle
Christine McCafferty – Calder Valley
Alan Milburn – Darlington
Ann Moffat – East Lothian
Laura Moffatt – Crawley
Margaret Moran – Luton South
Elliot Morley – Scunthorpe
Kali Mountford – Colne Valley
Chris Mullin – Sunderland South
Denis Murphy – Wansbeck
Doug Naysmith – Bristol North West
Bill Olner – Nuneaton
Ian Pearson – Dudley South
Greg Pope – Hyndburn
Bridget Prentice – Lewisham East
John Prescott – Hull East
Ken Purchase – Wolverhampton North East
James Purnell – Stalybridge and Hyde
John Reid – Airdrie and Shotts
Martin Salter – Reading West
Mohammed Sarwar – Glasgow Central
Clare Short* – Birmingham, Ladywood
Sion Simon – Birmingham Erdington
Alan Simpson – Nottingham South
John Smith – Vale of Glamorgan
Helen Southworth – Warrington South
Howard Stoate – Dartford
Gavin Strang – Edinburgh East
Paddy Tipping – Sherwood
Mark Todd – Derbyshire South
Don Touhig – Islwyn
Paul Truswell – Pudsey
Des Turner – Brighton Kemptown
Neil Turner – Wigan
Kitty Ussher – Burnley
Rudi Vis – Finchley and Golders Green
Bob Waring* – Liverpool West Derby
Betty Williams – Aberconwy
Alan Williams – Swansea West
Michael Wills – Swindon North
Tony Wright – Cannock Chase
Derek Wyatt – Sittingbourne and Sheppey


Peter Ainsworth – East Surrey
Michael Ancram – Devizes
Peter Atkinson – Hexham
Tim Boswell – Daventry
Angela Browning – Tiverton and Honiton
John Butterfill – Bournemouth West
Derek Conway*** – Old Bexley and Sidcup
Sir Patrick Cormack – South Staffordshire
David Curry – Skipton and Ripon
Christopher Fraser – Norfolk South West
Paul Goodman – Wycombe
John Greenway – Thirsk and Malton
John Gummer – Suffolk Coastal
Douglas Hogg – Sleaford and North Hykeham
John Horam – Orpington
Michael Howard – Folkestone and Hythe
Michael Jack – Fylde
Robert Key – Salisbury
Julie Kirkbride – Bromsgrove
Jacqui Lait – Beckenham
Michael Lord – Suffolk Central and Ipswich North
Andrew Mackay – Bracknell
David Maclean – Penrith and the border
Humphrey Malins – Woking
John Maples – Stratford on Avon
Michael Mates – Hampshire East
Malcolm Moss – Cambridgeshire North East
Michael Spicer – Worcestershire West
Richard Spring – West Suffolk
Anthony Steen – Totnes
Ian Taylor – Esher and Walton
Peter Viggers – Gosport
Ann Widdecombe – Maidstone and the Weald
David Wilshire – Spelthorne
Ann Winterton – Congleton
Sir Nicholas Winterton – Macclesfield

Liberal Democrat:

John Barrett – Edinburgh West
Colin Breed – South East Cornwall
David Howarth – Cambridge
Paul Keetch – Hereford and South Herefordshire
Mark Oaten – Winchester
Matthew Taylor – Truro and Falmouth
Phil Willis – Harrogate and Knaresborough


Alex Salmond – Banff and Buchan
Ian Paisley – North Antrim
Adam Price – Carmarthen East and Dinefwr

*Clare Short was elected as a Labour MP but resigned the Labour whip on the 20th October 2006. Bob Waring was elected as a Labour MP, but resigned the Labour whip after being deselected.

***Derek Conway was elected as a Conservative MP but had the whip withdrawn on the 30th January 2008 following revelations that he has been paying a researcher’s salary to his sons from his allowances while they were at university.

****The following sitting MPs do not currently have a seat at the next election, either through boundary changes or through losing selection battles, though they may yet be selected for alternate seats or run as independents: Ian Stewart, Eddie O`Hara, John Greenway, Frank Cook, Quentin Davies,

NB - The constituency guide is now archived and is no longer being updated. It will be replaced by a new guide in 2013, once the fate of the boundary review is finally settled.