The UKPollingReport election guide for 2010 has now been archived and all comments closed. The new Election Guide for the 2015 election is now online at The old site is archived at the UK Web Archive.


OrpingtonOld Bexley and SidcupBexleyheath and CrayfordCities of London and WestminsterKensingtonChelsea and FulhamEnfield SouthgateChingford and Woodford GreenIlford NorthEast HamErith and ThamesmeadWest HamGreenwich and WoolwichBeckenhamCroydon CentralBarkingDagenham and RainhamIlford SouthRomfordElthamPoplar and LimehouseHammersmithBromley and ChislehurstLewisham West and PengeTottenhamKingston and SurbitonBermondsey and Old SouthwarkHayes and HarlingtonTootingCamberwell and PeckhamFeltham and HestonEaling SouthallEaling NorthRichmond ParkWestminster NorthIslington South and FinsburyRuislip, Northwood and PinnerMitcham and MordenHendonBrent NorthFinchley and Golders GreenBatterseaCarshalton and WallingtonDulwich and West NorwoodEaling Central and ActonHampstead and KilburnHackney North and Stoke NewingtonBethnal Green and BowLewisham DeptfordPutneyBrentford and IsleworthCroydon SouthHornsey and Wood GreenLeyton and WansteadWalthamstowHackney South and ShoreditchUxbridge and South RuislipUxbridge and South RuislipHolborn and St PancrasIslington NorthVauxhallStreathamWimbledonCroydon NorthLewisham EastHarrow EastHarrow WestChipping BarnetEdmontonEnfield NorthBrent CentralHornchurch and UpminsterTwickenhamSutton and Cheam

Profile: The capital city of the UK and, with a population of around seven and a half million, home to around an eighth of the population.

Following boundary changes there are 73 seats in London and unlike many of Britain’s large cities London remains competitive for all three of the political parties (and in some specific areas, fringe parties like Respect and the BNP). The leafy suburbs in the Kentish part of the capital and the exclusive enclaves of the super-rich in Kensington, Chelsea and Fulham are Tory strongholds, the turmoiled council estates of south London and the now largely Asian east-end are normally safely Labour, in affluent South West London the Liberal Democrats have replaced the Conservatives to be the dominant party. Between the Tory suburbs that ring much of London and the largely Labour held inner city there is a belt of marginal seats that will decide the next election.

Since 2000 London has been governed at a local level by an elected Mayor, currently Ken Livingstone – the leader of the old Greater London Council when it was abolished in the mid-1980s. It is elected using a system of alternative vote with the next elections in 2008. The mayor is held to account by the London Assembly, elected on a proportional representation using 14 large multi-borough constituencies and 11 members returned from London wide top up lists.

Parliamentary constituenciesImage Map

Beckenham Hayes and Harlington
Bethnal Green and Bow Hendon
Bexleyheath and Crayford Holborn and St Pancras
Brent Central Hornchurch and Upminster
Brent North Hornsey and Wood Green
Brentford and Isleworth Ilford North
Bromley and Chislehurst Ilford South
Camberwell and Peckham Islington North
Carshalton and Wallington Islington South and Finsbury
Chelsea and Fulham Kensington
Chingford and Woodford Green Kingston and Surbiton
Chipping Barnet Lewisham Deptford
Cities of London and Westminster Lewisham East
Croydon Central Lewisham West and Penge
Croydon North Leyton and Wanstead
Croydon South Mitcham and Morden
Dagenham and Rainham Northwood and Pinner
Dulwich and West Norwood Old Bexley and Sidcup
Ealing Central and Acton Orpington
Ealing North Poplar and Limehouse
Ealing Southall Putney
East Ham Richmond Park
Edmonton Romford
Eltham Bermondsey and Old Southwark
Enfield North Streatham
Enfield Southgate Sutton and Cheam
Erith and Thamesmead Tooting
Feltham and Heston Tottenham
Finchley and Golders Green Twickenham
Greenwich and Woolwich Uxbridge and South Ruislip
Hackney North and Stoke Newington Vauxhall
Hackney South and Shoreditch Walthamstow
Hammersmith West Ham
Hampstead and Kilburn Westminster North
Harrow East Wimbledon
Harrow West

Mayoral Election
London Assembly
Mayoral Polls
European Elections

NB - The constituency guide is now archived and is no longer being updated. It will be replaced by a new guide in 2013, once the fate of the boundary review is finally settled.