The UKPollingReport election guide for 2010 has now been archived and all comments will shortly be closed. The new Election Guide for the 2015 election is now online at The old site is archived at the UK Web Archive.

Jo Crotty selected as Lib Dem candidate in Warrington South, Jill Hope in Milton Keynes North, Mary Varrall in Bexhill & Battle, Leslie Coman in Christchurch.

Caroline Righton selected as Conservative candidate in St Austell and Newquay, Dr David Bull selected in Brighton Pavilion, Kris Hopkins in Keighley.

David Clelland MP has beaten Sharon Hodgson MP to the Labour nomination for the new Gateshead seat. Clelland’s Tynebridge seat disappears at the next election, with most of it going into the Gateshead seat. Sharon Hodgson is currently the MP for Gateshead East and Washington West, which will be split between Gateshead, Washington & Sunderland West and Jarrow at the next election.

Barbara Keeley, the MP for Worley, has beaten Ian Stewart MP for the Labour nomination in the new Worley & Eccles South seat. This leaves Stewart, currently the MP for Eccles (due to be abolished at the next election), to fight it out with Hazel Blears for the nomination in the new Salford & Eccles seat.