2015 Result:
Conservative: 6969 (18.2%)
Labour: 15554 (40.7%)
Lib Dem: 4904 (12.8%)
Plaid Cymru: 4348 (11.4%)
Green: 992 (2.6%)
UKIP: 5085 (13.3%)
TUSC: 48 (0.1%)
Others: 332 (0.9%)
MAJORITY: 8585 (22.5%)

Category: Very safe Labour seat

Geography: Wales, Mid Glamorgan. Part of the Rhondda Cynon Taf council area.

Main population centres: Pontypridd, Treforest, Rhydyfelin, Beddau, Llantwit Fardre, Llantrisant, Pontyclun, Tonyrefail.

Profile: Covers the lower Taf and Ely valleys. This seat is very much the transition point between the traditional, struggling, post-industrial towns of the Welsh valleys and those commuter villages and new build developments that lie in the orbit of Cardiff to the south. The Royal Mint, the government owned company that produces all UK coinage, is based here in Llantrisant. Two of the University of Glamorgan`s campuses are also here, based in Pontypridd.

Politics: Pontypridd has been held by Labour since the 1920s, but is less monolithically Labour than those seats deeper into the Welsh valleys. In 2010 the Liberal Democrats cut the Labour majority to under ten percent, but they slumped to fourth place in 2015.

Current MP
OWEN SMITH (Labour) Born 1970, Morecambe. Educated at Sussex University. Former radio producer and special adviser. Contested Blaenau Gwent 2006 by-election. First elected as MP for Pontypridd in 2010. Shadow Welsh Secretary 2012-2015. Shadow Work and Pensions Secretary since 2015.
Past Results
Con: 5932 (16%)
Lab: 14220 (39%)
LDem: 11435 (31%)
PC: 2673 (7%)
Oth: 2411 (7%)
MAJ: 2785 (8%)
Con: 5321 (13%)
Lab: 20919 (53%)
LDem: 7728 (19%)
PC: 4420 (11%)
Oth: 1246 (3%)
MAJ: 13191 (33%)
Con: 5096 (13%)
Lab: 22963 (60%)
LDem: 4152 (11%)
PC: 5279 (14%)
Oth: 819 (2%)
MAJ: 17684 (46%)
Con: 5910 (13%)
Lab: 29290 (64%)
LDem: 6161 (13%)
PC: 2977 (6%)
Oth: 1517 (3%)
MAJ: 23129 (50%)

*There were boundary changes after 2005

2015 Candidates
ANN-MARIE MASON (Conservative)
OWEN SMITH (Labour) See above.
MIKE POWELL (Liberal Democrat) Contested Pontypridd 2010.
DAMIEN BIGGS (Socialist Labour Party)
Comments - 151 Responses on “Pontypridd”
  1. Cllr Alexandra Davies-Jones ( Tonyrefail West ward) is the new Labour candidate

Leave a Reply

NB: Before commenting please make sure you are familiar with the Comments Policy. UKPollingReport is a site for non-partisan discussion of polls.

You are not currently logged into UKPollingReport. Registration is not compulsory, but is strongly encouraged. Either login here, or register here (commenters who have previously registered on the Constituency Guide section of the site *should* be able to use their existing login)