2015 Result:
Conservative: 15204 (45%)
Labour: 1900 (5.6%)
Lib Dem: 9879 (29.3%)
Plaid Cymru: 1745 (5.2%)
Green: 1260 (3.7%)
UKIP: 3769 (11.2%)
MAJORITY: 5325 (15.8%)

Category: Semi-marginal Conservative seat

Geography: Wales, Powys. Part of Powys council area.

Main population centres: Newtown, Welshpool, Machynlleth, Llanidloes, Montgomery.

Profile: A rural and sparsely populated seat, mostly mountainous in the west but coming down into fertile, rolling farmland towards the English border. The local economy is dominated by agriculture, arable in the lower area, sheep farming in the hills. The largest settlements are the newtown of Newtown (the name long predates its 1960s designation) and the agricultural market town of Welshpool, both close to the English border in the east of the constituency.

Politics: Historically this was a reliable Liberal seat, held by the Liberals and Liberal Democrats almost continuously since 1880, most notably by former party leader Clement Davies. In 1979 it was briefly won by the Conservatives before being regained by the Liberals under Alex Carlile (a prominent barrister who later, as Lord Carlile, became the independent reviewer of government terrorist legislation. Carlile was succeeded in 1997 by Lembit Opik, whose colourful eccentricities were sometimes blamed for the seat falling to the Conservatives in 2010.

Current MP
GLYN DAVIES (Conservative) Born 1944, Welshpool. Educated at Llanfair Caereinion High School and Aberystwyth University. Former farmer and former chairman of the Development board for rural Wales. Montgomeryshire councillor 1979-89. Contested Montgomeryshire 1997. Member of the Welsh Assembly for Mid and West Wales 1999-2007. First elected as MP for Montgomeryshire in 2010. PPS to Cheryl Gillan 2010-2012.
Past Results
Con: 13976 (41%)
Lab: 2407 (7%)
LDem: 12792 (38%)
PC: 2802 (8%)
Oth: 1836 (5%)
MAJ: 1184 (4%)
Con: 8246 (27%)
Lab: 3454 (11%)
LDem: 15419 (51%)
PC: 2078 (7%)
Oth: 900 (3%)
MAJ: 7173 (24%)
Con: 8085 (28%)
Lab: 3443 (12%)
LDem: 14319 (49%)
PC: 1969 (7%)
Oth: 1167 (4%)
MAJ: 6234 (22%)
Con: 8344 (26%)
Lab: 6109 (19%)
LDem: 14647 (46%)
PC: 1608 (5%)
Oth: 1217 (4%)
MAJ: 6303 (20%)

*There were boundary changes after 2005

2015 Candidates
GLYN DAVIES (Conservative) See above.
JANE DODDS (Liberal Democrat) Born Wrexham. Former Richmond councillor.
DES PARKINSON (UKIP) Born Brecon. Retired Chief superintendent.
ANN GRIFFITH (Plaid) Social care consultant. Anglesey councillor.
Comments - 462 Responses on “Montgomeryshire”
1 8 9 10
  1. Baz, from what you say this very much has the feel of a constituency which the parties felt was in play if there were significant national changes between the calling of the election and polling day, one where the challenging party believe they can reduce the majority (otherwise why continue given that the LDs clearly aren’t making the traction most expected given Labour’s situation?), but one where most parties think they know the result.

    Most uninvolved people could have said from the start that this was almost certain to remain Conservative, but as the campaign has proven assumptions can change as the campaign goes on. Few people currently assume Labour to drop below 200 seats. Many did three or four weeks ago.

  2. Still very quiet here. Lib Dems were in the village last week. Labour seem to have called at some houses on the main road recently. No sign of Conservative canvassers here yet and only 1 hand-delivered leaflet on top of the official election address. Same for Labour. ! Green and 1 Plaid Cymru. Separate and different election addresses for my wife and I from Lib Dem plus 4 other leaflets from them, some in post and some hand-delivered.

  3. I see from BBC Wales that Tim Farron has been in Montgomeryshire today. I have not heard that any other leaders have been here.

  4. Baz: My guess would be he’s trying to shore up the vote so they can take it when Davies stands down, probably next time around. Does that sound about right to you?

  5. MR PITT

    In the 2015 election and this time the national polls made it difficult to see a Lib Dem win here but they put in a lot of effort. In a much lower key election this time I have had as many leaflets from Lib Dem now as all the others combined. If the boundary review goes through the most Con areas go into a North Wales seat and the more Lib Dem areas join Brecon and Radnor to make Brecon, Radnor and Montgomery. That could become a marginal.

  6. Thanks, Baz.

    My continued suspicion is a future LD gain after Davies goes. And yes, you’re right: Brecon, Radnor and Montgomery is one of the few very bright spots for the LDs in the boundary changes.

  7. A further 5% swing here to the Conservatives (or maybe the popular Mr Davies?) now leaves this a very safe seat.

    Its days as a Liberal citadel look well and truly over,

  8. Labour got almost as high a share here as in 1997. The unwinding of tactical voting in “Corbynmania” really hit the Lib Dems here.

  9. Just seen the boundary review. The proposal is much as my suggestion on 14 September last year, with Llanidloes no longer transferred over the mountains to join Ceredigion and a village near Welshpool going into the north Wales seat with Welshpool. With a bit of luck elections might get interesting here again if the review goes through but the LDs will have to work hard to challenge – they could win the Assembly seat if Kirsty Williams stands. I would doubt that Glyn Davies would stand as it is his village that is moved out and there is a Con MP already in the bulk of the new constituency.

  10. Jane Dodds, the Lib Dem candidate here in 2015 and 17, has just been elected leader of the Welsh Liberal Democrats.

  11. Vince Cable was in Welshpool yesterday. He held a public question and answer session at lunchtime.

  12. Glyn Davies has announced he won’t contest next GE

1 8 9 10
Leave a Reply

NB: Before commenting please make sure you are familiar with the Comments Policy. UKPollingReport is a site for non-partisan discussion of polls.

You are not currently logged into UKPollingReport. Registration is not compulsory, but is strongly encouraged. Either login here, or register here (commenters who have previously registered on the Constituency Guide section of the site *should* be able to use their existing login)