Derby South

2015 Result:
Conservative: 11179 (27.4%)
Labour: 20007 (49%)
Lib Dem: 1717 (4.2%)
Green: 1208 (3%)
UKIP: 6341 (15.5%)
TUSC: 225 (0.6%)
Others: 143 (0.4%)
MAJORITY: 8828 (21.6%)

Category: Very safe Labour seat

Geography: East Midlands, Derbyshire. Part of the Derby council area.

Main population centres: Derby.

Profile: Derby is a manuacturing city. Originally it was a railway town, the base of the Midland Railway, and while this is far less important these days Bombardier remains an important employer, and one that has been politically important in recent years when its failure to secure the contract for the new Thameslink carriages resulted in local job losses. In modern times the aerospace and automobile industries have been more important, with Rolls Royce and Toyota the largest local employers. Derby South contains the city centre and the more industrial south of the city, including the railworks and Rolls Royce factory as well as Pride Park. It is also the more ethnically diverse of the two Derby seats, with a significant Asian and Muslim population.

Politics: Derby South has been held by Labour since its creation in 1950, though it is not an ultra-safe seat - when Margaret Beckett originally won the seat back in 1983 it was by only 421 votes.

Current MP
MARGARET BECKETT (Labour) Born 1943, Ashton-under-Lyne. Educated at Notre Dame High School and UMIST. Former experiment officer and Labour researcher. Contested Lincoln February 1974. MP for Lincoln O1974-1979 under her maiden name Margaret Jackson. First elected as MP for Derby South in 1983. PPS to Judith Hart 1974-1975, government whip 1975-1976, Under-secretary of state for Education 1976-1979. Deputy leader of the Labour party from 1992-1994. Shadow health secretary 1994-1995, Shadow President of the Board of Trade 1995-1997, President of the Board of Trade 1997-1998, Leader of the House of Commons 1998-2001, Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs 2001-2006, Foriegn Secretary 2006-2007. She left the government following Gordon Brown`s appointment as Prime Minister, but returned briefly to government as Minister of State for Housing between 2008-2009. Beckett was briefly leader of the Labour party following John Smith`s death in 1994 and unsuccessfully contested both the subsequent leadership and deputy leadershup elections. Unsuccessfully stood as Speaker in 2009. Appointed a Dame in the 2013 New Years Honours List for public and political service.
Past Results
Con: 11729 (28%)
Lab: 17851 (43%)
LDem: 8430 (20%)
UKIP: 1821 (4%)
Oth: 1357 (3%)
MAJ: 6122 (15%)
Con: 8211 (19%)
Lab: 19683 (45%)
LDem: 14026 (32%)
UKIP: 845 (2%)
Oth: 608 (1%)
MAJ: 5657 (13%)
Con: 10455 (24%)
Lab: 24310 (56%)
LDem: 8310 (19%)
MAJ: 13855 (32%)
Con: 13048 (25%)
Lab: 29154 (56%)
LDem: 7438 (14%)
Oth: 317 (1%)
MAJ: 16106 (31%)

*There were boundary changes after 2005

2015 Candidates
EVONNE WILLIAMS (Conservative)
MARGARET BECKETT (Labour) See above.
JOE NAITTA (Liberal Democrat) Derby councillor since 2008. Contested Derbyshire Dales 2010.
VICTOR WEBB (UKIP) Law costs draughtsman. Tunbridge Wells councillor since 2011. Contested Tunbridge Wells 2001, 2005, 2010.
DAVID GALE (British Independents)
Comments - 62 Responses on “Derby South”
  1. With

  2. Personal vote helps a bit but not with a landslide as seen in Scotland

  3. If this were a 98% White British seat Margaret Beckett might be vulnerable. But as it is she is pretty safe. Majority would probably be halved but not eradicated entirely.

  4. Why is Beckett standing again? She has nothing to prove and will achieve little in the next Parliament as even her own side will ignore her. She has had a distinguished career.

    There are quite a few Labour MP’s in their 70,s and even 80’s re-standing and it will make the job of the rump that remain harder. The Conservatives had a similar problem in 1997-2005, when many former ministers were too grand to get down to the tough role of opposition. Others include David Winnick, Dennis Skinner, Paul Flynn.

  5. The Latter two of your list are strong Corbyn supporters so that maybe why. Ronnie Campbell is also standing despite even announcing a retirement.
    I am a bit Surprised that she is standing through- same with her fellow former Deputy leader Harriet Harman. Probably would have both retired in 2020 but dont fell ready to go yet.

  6. Retiring with two weeks notice is a big call, especially for MPs of an age that they wouldn’t be able to pursue another career (Beckett and Harman might normally find themselves in the Lords, but whether Corbyn would put them there is more debatable – Shami Chakrabarti is the only peer he’s nominated to date).

    David Winnick will very likely be retired by the electorate anyway, despite what he might be hope – defending a majority of under 2000 in a seat with a 22% UKIP vote in 2015.

  7. Re Skinner et all, Alan Haselhurst’s proposal to stand again had a mixed reception locally and he’s decided to stand down. Are members of Labour Associations much more timid, nobody dares to stick their neck out and say the unthinkable?

  8. Labour’s rules for the snap election didn’t allow deselection – MPs simply had to fill in a form asking whether they want to stand again.

  9. Paul Flynn will face a struggle to hold on as well and even Dennis Skinner could be at risk.
    Trust me- If Deselection was allowed in the Labour Party this election they would have been quite a few.

  10. Beckett had to stand or this would be at risk as well, with the Derby Labour party as it is Beckett is right to hold on and wait for the right successor to emerge.

  11. I suspect this is at risk come June 8th. Does require the UKIP vote to go to Torries plus defection from Labour to Both the Torries and the LIb Dems and prehaps a low turnout in the Labour strong hold heavily BME wards.

Leave a Reply

NB: Before commenting please make sure you are familiar with the Comments Policy. UKPollingReport is a site for non-partisan discussion of polls.

You are not currently logged into UKPollingReport. Registration is not compulsory, but is strongly encouraged. Either login here, or register here (commenters who have previously registered on the Constituency Guide section of the site *should* be able to use their existing login)