Bradford West By election 2012

The by-election was caused by the resignation of Labour MP Marsha Singh for reasons of ill-health. Singh was appointed Steward of the Chiltern Hundreds on the 2nd March 2012, and died later the same year. The by-election was held on the 29th March 2012 and was a surprise victory for the Respect party under former Bethnal Green and Bow MP George Galloway. The swing from Labour to Respect was 36.6 percent, the largest at any election since Bermondsey in 1983. It was the first time that the main opposition party has lost a by-election since Romsey in 2000.

George Galloway (Respect) 18341 55.9% (+52.8%)
Imran Hussain (Labour) 8201 25% (-20.3%)
Jackie Whiteley (Conservative) 2746 8.4% (-22.7%)
Jeanette Sunderland (Liberal Democrat) 1505 4.6% (-7.1%)
Sonja McNally (UKIP) 1085 3.3% (+1.3%)
Dawud Islam (Green) 481 1.5% (-0.8%)
Neil Craig (Democratic Nationalists) 344 1% (-0.1%)
Howling Laud Hope (Loony) 111 0.3% (n/a)
MAJORITY 10140 30.9%
Turnout 50% (-14.9%)
George Galloway (Respect) born 1954, Dundee. Educated at Harris Academy. A flamboyant left-winger, talented orator and outspoken critic of Tony Blair and George W Bush. Galloway was first elected to Parliament as the Labour MP for Glasgow Hillhead in 1987, defeating Roy Jenkins. He has long been involved in Palestinian and Arab causes. He opposed the 1991 Gulf war and travelled to Iraq several times, meeting both Saddam Hussein and Tariq Aziz. In 1998 he founded a charity to campaign against sanctions on Iraq. He opposed the Iraq War and in 2003 was expelled from the Labour party for making comments encouraging British troops to refuse to obey illegal orders. Galloway was subsequently involved in the founding of the Respect Party, and was often (incorrectly) identified as its leader. MP for Bethnal Green and Bow 2005-2010, contested Popular and Limehouse 2010. MP for Bradford West since 2012 by-election.
Imran Hussain (Labour) Born Bradford. Barrister. Bradford councillor. Deputy leader of Bradford council.
Jackie Whiteley (Conservative) Educated at Leeds Metropolitan University. Runs a company selling environmentally friendly horticultural products. Contested Rotherham 2010.
Jeanette Sunderland (Liberal Democrat) Born in Idle. Office manager. Bradford councillor since 1994.
Sonja McNally (UKIP) Defected from the Green party in 2012.
Dawud Islam (Green) Home energy consultant. Contested Brent South 1997.
Neil Craig (Democratic Nationalists) Born Bradford. Publican. Contested Bradford West 2010.
Howling Laud Hope (Loony) Real name Alan Hope. Born Mytchett. Publican. Leader of the Monster Raving Loony Party since 1999. Contested Teignbridge 1983, 1987, 1992, Aldershot 1997, Eddisbury by-election 1999, Kensington and Chelsea by-election 1999, Brent East by-election 2003, Hartlepool by-election 2004, Aldershot 2005, Blaenau Gwent by-election 2006, Sedgefield by-election 2007, Norwich North by-election 2009, Witney 2010, Barnsley Central 2011.
Comments - 4 Responses on “By Elections – Bradford West”
  1. So THIS is the seat respect got in a by-election.

  2. Have you been living under a rock?

  3. Odd there were no comments until today.

  4. Remember, the by-election was when it was the old site – this page was only created when this one was up and running.

Leave a Reply

NB: Before commenting please make sure you are familiar with the Comments Policy. UKPollingReport is a site for non-partisan discussion of polls.

You are not currently logged into UKPollingReport. Registration is not compulsory, but is strongly encouraged. Either login here, or register here (commenters who have previously registered on the Constituency Guide section of the site *should* be able to use their existing login)